Home > Other > Twitter – How to set your background image or theme

Twitter – How to set your background image or theme

Today I have updated my Twitter background to simply show my profile picture and remove the blue default background set by Twitter. This now looks like the image shown below. Next I thought I would blog how to update your Twitter account and share some tips when changing the background image or theme.

 

The first tip is the the maximum recommended allowed background size is 1600×1200 pixels. Next thing to know is that the file size of your background image should not exceed 800kb.

Next tip I would recommend is that your left hand column (where I have placed my full profile image) should not exceed 200 pixels in width. This will allow your Twitter page to support smaller monitor resolutions but allow for a tidy layout at the larger monitor resolutions.

Instructions to change your background image or theme:

  1. Login to your twitter account
  2. Click Settings
  3. Click Design
  4. Scroll to the bottom to you see “Change Background Image”
  5. Click Change Background Image
  6. Browse to your desired background image
  7. Don’t check/select “tile background”
  8. Click Save Changes

Now you should see your image on your Twitter page. I have also configured my Design Colours as well. To do this you will need to click on “Change Design Colors”.

I have set my background colour to white i.e. FFFFFF

And that’s basically it for my twitter page. All finished.

Some other settings I was looking at doing but did not apply were:

  • Text color: 000000
  • Link color: 121212
  • Sidebar fill color: bfbfbf
  • Sidebar border color: FFFFFF

Hope that helps!

Greg Olsen
Yellow Duck Guy

Categories: Other
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

