Home > Microsoft Windows > Windows 7 – Desktop Background Folder

Windows 7 – Desktop Background Folder

The easiest option to change or set the desktop background with Windows 7, would involve you right-clicking on the image and selecting ‘Set as Desktop Background’. If you need to know where Windows 7 puts your image once set by default, check out the location below.
 
This is the location for desktop background images for Windows 7:
 

C:\Windows\Web\Wallpaper 

Greg Olsen
Yellow Duck Guy

Categories: Microsoft Windows
  1. Roland
    May 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    The only ones in there is the default background of Windows, still cannot see my personal file.

  2. Greg
    May 23, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Hi Roland,How did you set your desktop background? If you set the default background with Windows Photo Viewer (for example), then Windows will save the background as a file in the location shown below. Note: Make sure your hidden files are shown to access the location below. C:\\Users\\<youruserloginnamegoeshere>\\AppData\\Roaming\\Microsoft\\Windows Photo Viewer

  3. charuta
    December 2, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    this helps

  4. Martin
    January 23, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I found this files no problem.
    Yet I have a lenovo laptop that installs its ‘think’ wallpaper that I can not get rid of in Windows themes selection.
    Where do I find the location to change the default Lenovo default picture?
    Thanks
    Martin

  5. January 4, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    This applies for windows 8 too.

  6. April 22, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that
    I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  7. June 9, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your site? My blog is in the very same area of interest as
    yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some
    of the information you provide here. Please let
    me know if this ok with you. Appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

